As random as this placing may seem, these frames were leaning against the wall of a shop that frames pictures. Still, I liked the seemingly random placement of these enough to take a picture!

Walked past the Chamber's street musuem (Ok, the museum of scotland, but thats what I still call it) and I'm quite excited to learn it's re-opening on the 29th of July - it's been so long since I was in there!

I used to spend hours in there as a kid, I loved all the stuffed animals, the geology section and especially the button pressing exhibits. There were trains or machines that if you pressed a little button on the side of the exhibit, would either light up or parts would move - you were guaranteed something interesting would happen. I think this is one of the reasons why it's always been my favourite museum - the interactivity of the displays meant that as a kid there was something to do rather than just things to look at.

When I was a teenager and wandered about the place by myself the vast variety of things on display held my attention. I loved any exhibit with clothes and the history of fashion; I was drawn to the colours and wierd shapes of the stones in the geology section - but no matter how old I was I've always loved the animals. The famous blue whale skeleton giving an idea of just how HUGE the creature is - the only animals that I got bored with were the birds - I prefered the mammals. Even the butterflies and insects they had kept me busy on a rainy day in the summer holidays.

I've not been so often since I was a student - but still I talk of it fondly. I can't wait until it opens again, I'm well overdue for a visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.