One Day Like This

By sennema

Snapshot diarists

While studying art history at university, my attention was almost immediately drawn to architectural and urban history. In the second year I was able to do more architectural courses but there were still some art courses compulsory. One was 'the History of Photography'.

I loved the classes because we discussed the ethics and esthetics of photography. Couldn't be bothered much with studying the big book that was the basis for the exam though. Just one day beforehand I marked the critical chapters with post-its. While studying for the exam, I was sorry I hadn't opened the book before and just passed with a 6 (out of 10). Wasn't too ambitious back then.

Because of my recent tummy trouble I had time to go through the book again. It addresses lots of important themes; not only the origins starting with Niepce and Daguerre, but also the rise of photo journalism, and social, societal and scientific implications of photography. It even has a chapter on 'Snapshot diarists' - I'm not kidding! The writer refers to them/us as follows: 'Diaristic photography [...] sets out clues to subjective feelings in pictures with indefinite and implied narratives. Moreover, diaristic photographers do not insist on a particular interpretation. [...They] hope to spark a reaction or an independent narrative in the mind of the viewer.'

Love the book, such an inspiration to learn about photography's place in modern culture. Still not sure if I agree on her 'snapshot diarists' idea though. How about you?


Mary Warner Marien, Photography. A cultural history (London: Laurence King, 2002)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.