One Day Like This

By sennema

(Not) In My Back Yard

Today I wanted to tell the story of our backyard. It's alongside river Schie, which is still an active waterway. It was busy; I just sat in the sun and shot some nice pics of ships passing. I wanted to Blip one of those, but an event this evening got me thinking.

Sometimes seagulls gather above the Schie because someone throws bread in the water. I saw this happening just after I heard of the attacks in Oslo. The seagull is the symbol of our 'freedom party', a right wing, anti-islam party that has quite a lot of influence in our government. From my backyard I see all kinds of cultures; Rotterdam counts 173 nationalities. Not always ideal, but definitely not worthy of the scrutiny of the 'seagull party'. So these thoughts went through my head while photographing these seagulls.

I don't want to make this too political - Blipping should be fun mostly - but I hope this guy won't be bothered in any way because some extremists did something despicable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.