ExBeeb

By Exbeeb

The Old Grey Squirrel Test

Notwithstanding the fact that when I was very young, one of these bit straight through my finger nail instead of taking the peanut I was holding for it, I still like these creatures.

They are skittish, intelligent, not too frightened of us humans and they can be quite playful if you catch a group of them together. However, by law, if you trap one, purposely or accidentally, it must not be returned to the wild but humanely killed. These things can also be pests, which is something that prompted calls for celebrity chefs to promote the cooking and eating of grey squirrels. I'll have mine on toast, please chef.

Their worst crime was probably pushing the Red Squirrel out of England almost completely. In over 50 years, I have not seen a red one, except in France. If only there were a way for them both to live together, we could have the skittish, adventurous Grey and the much shyer Red to amuse us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.