Randy's Journal

By RandyChild

Homemade Sauerkraut

This one is made with red cabbage, salt, caraway seed and juniper berries. It is delicious and nutritious. It has been fermenting for about two and a half weeks now, and has a nice sour flavor. Had it for supper tonight with some wienies. Nice combination. Naturally fermented sauerkraut is rated as one of the top five healthiest foods in the world. It is very easy to make, and you never get tired of eating it. It has lots of vitamin C, lactic acid, and probiotics. I have a Harsch fermentation crock, which is a closed system, so you don't develop the slimy white kahm yeast on top. It works beautifully and produces about two gallons of kraut at a time. After it has fermented for a few weeks, I take some out and put it in a jar like this and put it in the fridge and reseal the crock. It is so much better than any of the store bought sauerkraut you can find. I can eat it daily and still find myself craving it. Now I want another crock so I can try other recipes at the same time, and keep an endless supply.

Another of my hobbies obsessions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.