The chinaman

Today's the day ..................... for familiar things

I've been looking after my Dad, while my Mum was taken off for a special birthday trip away. Today I was doing a bit of cleaning and dusting ready for her return. Most of the things I was dusting held lots of memories for me - including the chinaman.

Apparently, my Dad came back with him after the war. He'd been in the Navy and had bought him in Hong Kong, where according to my mother, they were cheap as chips . It's amazing that the chinaman has survived unscathed for more than sixty-odd years, through several house moves to various parts of the UK.

Actually I've always wondered if he might be a priceless chinese antique - you know - from the Ming Dynasty or something - and worth loads of money. The sort that get discovered on the Antiques Roadshow ....................?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.