Stravaiger

By stravaig

Royal Burgh of Stirling

Well..............it used to be a Royal Burgh.

It's now the City of Stirling. I think the title got changed as part of the UK's millenium celebrations. I still don't really think of it as a city. Unfortunately I cannot think of a single tangible or intangible benefit the change to city status has brought. The logo changed from a grand coat of arms to a modernist S cut through the middle by what looks like a winding motorway (perhaps intended to depict the motorway which does indeed run close to the city).

In this photograph Stirling Castle sits on the top of a hill overlooking the town. From this angle you can hopefully get a sense of the commanding position of the Castle.

I blipped on this photo during winter when the hills in the background were snow-covered and I wanted to repeat the shot in summer. Might do so again in the autumn when the leaves are turning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.