N Higgins

By nhiggins

FIRE!

This is the damage to the carpet after todays fire. I was testing the electrics for the boiler the plumbers have installed, when a gas gun blew up in the apprentices face! He threw it out of the upstairs window, but it came back in through the downstairs one!! What a freak occurance. It landed on some plastic tools boxes and quickly engulfed them. Black acrid smoke spread so quickly, it was difficult to comprehend. Eventually, I found a fire blanket and removed the gun. Cue, shock. The smoke doesn't appear to have damaged much, but it did smell a little. The kitchen will need a thorough clean and all the cobwebs now have a soot lining!!

It was all made worse when my ex reminded me that the ceiling was previously polystrene tiles!!! Fortunately, I had removed it and plasterboarded it.

Now the boiler has been finished, the renovation will gain even more momentum.

I have too say, I felt glad to be alive yesterday. A different outcome is unthinkable.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.