In Brief, for once...

By JaxI

Proof of ID

Aaargh! One of those "Japan" days! And before you start, yes I know everything is not the same everywhere and I think my 20 years here speaks to my ability to let the superficial differences pass most of the time. And I also acknowledge that it is actually all my own fault. But when my time is wasted I get a little narky OK? Then a girl feels like ranting a bit.

So I go into the post office to claim an unusual tax rebate. For the second time. The first time, because it was in Yasu's name, and his stamp wouldn't do, I came out penniless because he had to sign a proxy. I was told if I came back with this proxy and my ID it would be fine.
So went back today with my proxy and my ID. Waited in 40 minute queue. This time because I didn't have my personal seal I couldn't get it. I keep my seal at work, so I don't have an excuse to forget to stamp the attendance book. Usually at the post office when you forget your seal when you go to pick up mail, you can sign for stuff or give your fingerprint instead. Not today, because "taxes are important, so you have to do it properly".
I thereupon walked across the street, in full view of the staff, into a stationery shop and purchased the above seal with the characters for my name on it for ¥525, (a couple of quid), walked back across the street, waited again for 20 minutes, and was allowed to complete the transaction.
I said, " I just walked across the street and bought this. I could be anyone. That exercise was totally meaningless" , smiling sweetly.

The post office clerk bowed deeply and said "Yes Madam" and handed me my cash, smiling sweetly.

Grrrrrrrrrr.

Culture is culture, but this meaningless anachronism just wasted an hour of my time. I find it ironic that I was able to go into city hall and marry the man with only his stamp, without him even being there, but I can't get a few yen back without it even though I can completely prove who I am.

Still I have the money now, and it should buy a few lunches on my holidays next week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.