Wild in the country

By colin

Thirty years ago today

A fairy tale wedding, and nothing us republicans and anarchists could do but try to ignore it. I definitely remember hanging a gate, and my friend maintained for years afterwards that I got legless, but if I was, then why should I remember?

There have been a few events, one being the Poll Tax riots, that make one think the end of our system is nigh, and another event was the divorce of this miserable pair. (I can say miserable pair, because all knowledge since the wedding suggests it was a sham, including testimony from the poor girl herself.) However, the monarchy survived the divorce and death of that same poor girl, and Thatcher survived Poll Tax, and we still have a government made up of the rich and privileged.

Ah well, enough grumbling - out for a nice walk in the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.