Frontier

By Frontier

Oiden Festival / Being Alone

Today was a really productive day. I spent the entire day taking analogue photos with one of my best friends and a group of other people who got together for a toy-camera workshop organised by a shop. It was fantastic. I'm getting more familiar with a manual camera but what was more exciting was thinking about arriving in Toyota for the Oiden Festival. Unfortunately due to heavy rains in Nagoya, there were delays and I missed the end of the festival. It was sad because this time last year was when I first bought a DSLR and played with it. I wish I had been able to see the festival, but thankfully I got the stragglers going home. I could see the energy and summer heat glowing from their faces. I can't imagine how exciting it must have been to see all the dancers in the street. I mean, it gets PACKED.

Sadly after everyone goes home, the streets are again empty and extremely clean. It's as if nothing happened. The anticipation of a community getting together to celebrate inundates me with such happiness. The energy is fulfilling. Loneliness sinks in and begins to ensnare you in rapture. The loneliness is a powerful poison. But looking forward to the future begins the cycle of anticipation again and the beauty of motivation turns its wheels.

A poem from a writer who sums this idea much more eloquently. How to Be Alone

A great companion was also lost today, but I know he will go on to live his beautiful life in smacko heaven. Thanks Rusty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.