The Corner of Your Heart

By LifeInEveryWord

Starting to feel it

Last Tuesday, my grandfather passed away. At 4:30 in the morning. Sleeping in his own bed with my cousin by his side.
He had been so sick for so long that it sort of came as a relief. But it still leaves that awful ache in my heart.
My grandfather was 82 years old. A strong man of Dutch and Irish descent with a shiny bald head and a heart of gold.
He was a World War Two veteran who saw the flag raised at Iwo Jima and was looking forward to going to the new memorial next month.
My grandfather loved three things:
His children, his grandchildren, and his front porch
And for him, we said the Irish blessing tonight...

May the road rise to meet you
May the wind be always at your back
May the sun shine warm upon your face
May the rain fall soft upon your fields
And until we meet again
May God hold you in the palm of his hand

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.