The Corner of Your Heart

By LifeInEveryWord

May you find some comfort here

Today was my grandfather's funeral
So, today's picture could have been extremely depressing
I could have talked about how my family asked all of the grandchildren to be pallbearers
I could have discussed exactly how I felt carrying my grandfather's body into the church
And how my sister and I completely broke down when the musicians played Sarah McLachlan's "In the Arms of an Angel"
And how we cried while the Navy men played 'Taps' and presented our family with his American flag
And how I wanted to call you while I was sobbing but I didn't want to bother you
But we didn't allow ourselves much more time to be sad
Instead of crying, we celebrated our grandfather's life with a big party at my aunt's house
Because that's just how we are. And that's how he was
My grandfather partied hard when he was alive. And we wanted to pay tribute to that
So we drank until we couldn't stop laughing, we ate until we had to loosen our belts, and we sang until our throats were sore
Of course, we don't always know the words, but that doesn't matter
Because we laughed through every verse
All the while staring at my grandfather's empty front porch next door
We shouldn't feel guilty
My grandfather would have wanted it this way
Because when we're all together, nothing can go wrong

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.