Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

"I'd buy that for a dollar!"

What, you may ask, am I doing posting a photo of myself in a bra, waving a dollar bill around?

Well, it's another film blip. Albeit a fairly tangential one this week, but I'm hoping the quote I've used for the title is enough for anyone who knows the film to be able to identify it as Robocop (there's a recurrent theme in the film of characters watching a tacky TV show involving scantily clad women, a strange-looking bloke and the catchphrase "I'd buy that for a dollar!")

I'm glad we've finally got round to this film as it's another of my all time favourites. A lot of people only see the violence and the action, but it's more than that - it's a still-relevant commentary on consumerism and the power of large corporations, plus asks questions about what defines us as human. A landmark film and one that's holding up well, even though it's 24 years old.

Favourite scene? ED-209's debut: "You have 20 seconds to comply" :-)

Other film blips are tagged: WFBC

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.