Appreciation

By Appreciation

Old Age

In a chance remark the other day I mentioned to someone that I loved when a photograph showed the passion you feel for the subject. That statement has resonated for a few days and I have to say that I think it's obvious when I am passionate about my chosen subject.

In my portraits of friends and family, in my shots of the garden or allotment. Perhaps it's a personal thing and only I can see it?

I often leave a few leeks to go to seed. As part of the allium family they display their flowers so beautifully, and provide wonderful structure to the garden. In a rare moment my babes and I watched the bees cluster around them in the early morning seeking out the odd bits of nectar. I say rare, as teenagers they are normally either in bed or out on a sleepover, it is rare that we are all up early and together.

Tonight I returned to the old age pensioners, who sit close to the baby leeks displaying their eagerness to grow. They seem to be ageing far better than I am these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.