Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Impossible

The 8th month of the year has arrived -- impossible!

One of my FaceBook friends posted: "Congratulations, August, you have made it to the year 2011! Don't expect a long stay though. The proceeding months of this year were stunned at how fast they were over." I thought her statement apropos.

This day every summer, however, brings me back to an old familiar tune by one of my favorite word & tune smiths: Carole King. We always listen to this her song, "The First Day of August" several times during this calendar moment.

My friend Peggy encourages all her friends and students to create the soundtrack of their life. I like her idea so much that I make a soundtrack for each season and definitely Carole King's song is on my summer soundtrack. Peg actually assigns her college Cultural Geography students to write an essay on that topic. I've always kidded her that someday I'm going to write that essay.


Little Tristan and his mommy left Aunt Dede & Uncle John's house early this morning headed for the airport. They had an 8:00 am flight with a stop in Las Vegas and then Oklahoma City. While she and Tristan were waiting in the baggage area for their luggage to arrive, Desiree phoned to let us know they had landed safely. A little while later she sent a photo text of Tristan napping while riding in the car for home.

Now Mr. Fun and I are going to take some vacation days, look for some serious diversion, and not focus on Tristan's absence, but rather savor the wonder of a little boy who we love immensely. Thank you everyone for the sweet and fun comments these past weeks as I posted lots of photos of our 4-year-old great grandson.

Tomorrow morning we are "out of here" for a fresh perspective.
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.