Tay Ghillie

By challum

It's only rain

After the torrential rain of yesterday the morning dawned bright and breezy. I packed away a wet tent and changed a slow puncture on my front tyre before leaving shortly before 8am. I soon reached Hoorn, which was very pretty with lots of old fishing and sailing boats in the harbour and a nice tower as well. Diversions meant my chosen route wasn't possible and I was directed alongside the fast N506 - on a separate cycle path of course. At 9.50 I reached Enkhuizen and thankfully even on a SUnday morning I managed to find a good shop to replenish my food supplies. A deep breath now for the 22km long Markerwaarddijk which on a windy day meant a very slow 13kph average speed. At Kraggenburg I saw signs for Mini Camping De Tulip and I had the tiny farm site to myself. The owners kindly invited me in for coffee in the morning and I caught up with the latest stage results from the TDF and another stage win for Mark Cavendish. 119kms today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.