The Daily Bun

By pennybun

No 95 : Black-tailed godwit

Goodness! What a day! I paid my first visit to RSPB Blacktoft Sands today. I decided on today as it was forecast to be warm and almost windless, at least for the first part of the day and that is what bearded tits like. Did I see bearded tits? I did not! I did however see 8 birds I had not yet blipped, one of which was a rarity and a lifer for me (marsh sandpiper), and another (in birder parlance) was a year tick (greenshank), not to mention seeing avocets with chicks and loads of magnificent marsh harriers. And did I get any good bird photos? I did not! I got nice butterfly photos, I even got a passable photo of a stoat, but birds? Nah!
On the bus back to Goole, we were treated to an amazing display of lightning, and as we approached the town, the water got higher and higher - flash floods - and as I got of the bus, it began again. Quite a day!
It's late, and I need my bed, so please forgive me for getting behind in my comments. I'm going to have a day in tomorrow and will try and catch up.
Oh, at least this godwit brings me one step nearer my goal of 100 different birds.
Night all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.