Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Local Roots. Global Mission.

Today I had the fine opportunity to tour the new recently opened but not yet complete headquarters of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation -it's a 40 minute walk from where I live. Such a unique and wonderful group of buildings- it is on track to achieve gold certification in LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) with it's green roofs, rain and grey water catchment system, solar panels (who would think these would work here?)drought tolerant plants etc etc. And it has a wonderful contemporary and global art collection! It would be a fantastic place to work. There were so many excellent photo opportunities, It was hard to choose . I know friend M (blipper Mikeday, who arranged this small tour) will pick an intimate artful piece hereof which there were many, so I'm going to go for one of the many spaces for employees to inhabit - 6 floors in 2 buildings all have small spaces for small meetings - How about this for 2? Each floor in this spot has different chairs -all made from some sustainable product.) Would you get any work done? The view is north to Lake Union . M and I both live on the north east side of the lake. The blinds all adjust automatically depending on the sun and heat. (and of course I liked these stripes!) I'm sorry I couldn't figure out how to make the mountains more visable. You could learn more about the Gates foundation and their new building and their Global Health programshere

The opera last night was a delight, but the time I spent today trying to figure out some stuff on my computer and use the unlimited internet, was NOT. One more day and it's back to the island!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.