The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Brown Hawker (honest!)

Today I went to a reception at the Town Hall and lunched with the Lord Mayor of Sheffield. It was a Thank You to everyone who had been involved in the Walk Sheffield festival, and as I described, checked, and led a walk as part of this, I was one of the invited. It was a pleasant, fairly low key affair.
Afterwards, I went up to one of the local wildlife reserves where there is a nice pond and I thought I might catch a glimpse of some dragonflies - real ones this time. This brown hawker was the best subject as she was laying eggs. There were also some common darters around as well as a bright green whizzy one which I couldn't identify, and also some blue tailed damselflies. On the bird front, I got a fine view of a kestrel - and nearly a good photo, and as for butterflies, meadow browns, common blues and the ubiquitous gatekeepers. Not bad for an hour's wander.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.