Silver penny

I had a day communing with a computer screen in the office working through a large email backlog, and then rather rashly walked the length of Princes Street before getting a bus home. There were tourists and casualties out in force; it was quite difficult to make headway along the pavement. As in Sidmouth, earlier in the week, I was struck by the thought that there are some people who I would definitely prefer not to see wearing shorts. In fact, the majority of people who wear them would do well to have a long hard look in the mirror before venturing out.

DaveH had a day out, checking out the newly refurbished museum. He brought me a little Robert the Bruce silver penny - no, he didn't pinch it, it was a replica which cost £1.50 in the shop! It says "Robertus D. G." (dei gratia?) and then a couple more letters I can't make out. On the other side there's a cross with four stars and "Rex Scotorum".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.