Cover

I went up to the allotment again early this morning - so much to be done and I won't be able to get up there for several days. But the first thing I noticed was the mouse's nest; it appeared to have been tidied up a bit since yesterday, but there were two pink babies clearly visible in the centre. They were squirming gently as yesterday (so they must have been fed) - but so obvious from above. I'm amazed they hadn't already been nabbed by a magpie, seagull, cat, etc etc. I placed a wisp of dried grass over them and put a couple of plants in pots beside the nest to overhang and provide some shade and cover.

I was a nervous wreck by the end of this - I tiptoed away. The photo I took of the wee mice turned out to be totally out of focus. Good job I blipped this rather ornate drain cover on the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.