hannaheno's daily lives

By hannaheno

Knitters are doing it for themselves

Over the past 25 years or so I've knitted a multitude of things for other people. A 'Garfield' jumper for a friend I knew in my 20s, for example, (I know, I know). A cream silk christening set. A weird made up jumper for the niece of a boyfriend I later hated. Multitudes of hats, socks and gloves. Bunting (great idea for using up ends of wool). A blue and white cotton jumper in the 1980s for my friend L., who was devoted to it for years. An oversized hoodie for little F. who has featured on these pages. Hats with flowers, hats with stripes. An absolute nightmare jumper - my first - for myself which featured bobbles, glitter and mohair (and was horribly itchy to wear). Another of my classic jumbers knitted at 15, based on a design "for Princess Diana" - all geometric shapes in black, red, white and grey. Still got that one. Tons more in between. And of course dozens of baby clothes for various pregnant friends.

Now, it's my turn. Being pregnant, I get to finally do something for myself (or for my proto-self). It's a strange thought that this time I'll get to dress a child in the things I've made. Being so sick (so far) I've found it hard to knit, pretty much all movements seem trigger that seasick feeling at times; what an irony!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.