Appreciation

By Appreciation

Two New Things

Yesterday's outing should have been to the Edinburgh Food Fesitval, we had tickets. Thankfully they were valid for the whole weekend. So today the girls picked up where we left off.

At first glance it seemed to be an event all about alcohol. Mojitos in hand we started the adventure. I did have to wonder where the girls had been who turned up in 9" wedge heels or flip flops. The ground was well churned up and opportunities to mud wrestle were everywhere. Those who had made impromptu adaptations of two supermarket bags tied round the ankle got my approval, although I was concerned that they would be one of the first to slide on down.

We could have sampled any amount of new delicacies, buffalo, kangaroo, gourmet lemon sherbet marshmallows, ostrich, crocodile, double hand roasted this, pickled that. Oysters are one seafood I had not tried - Julie was very keen, the others shunned this with a squirm. With the voice of Plan W 'when was the last time you tried something new' ringing in my ears I stepped forward. I was quite happy with the initial salty lemon and onion taste but that was all too quickly followed by the in or out experience! Hmmm I declined the second.

We chatted for a while near the 'Well Hung Beef' sign, I was keen for a handsome young lad to do likewise and grab the opportunity to snap it, Not my lucky day though.

Finally the alcohol hit our heads and there was a need to eat. There is always the risk when eating, laughing and chatting, of choking. So there I am doubled over, coughing and spluttering with one pal (nurse 1) asking if I'm alright - me shaking my head violently and her asking again (cos she's scared). I then started the sooking in of breath and rasping it out before other pal (nurse 2) carrried out a quick, if half hearted Heimlich type manouver. I knew there was a reason why I have to many medically trained friends. I had drawn quite a crowd and should have passed the hat round.

So we ended the day on another first, a near death first. As for last night's first time to take drunk teenager home to their unsuspecting parent's, well let's not go there.

The lovely pink lady was advertising The Judy Journals. Her pal was up on stage belting out some lovely Judy Songs so I could have died happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.