Doom and Gloom

By Doom

Nurnburg...

No. That was the plan, woke up bright and early, courtesy of Martin's phone call, so I got a shower and prepared my camera. The battery was almost out and my charger is back in Manchester. I wanted to capture Nurenburg with the camera so I had to change the plan: Saw a Flomarkt (enourmous German car boot sale) by the river and headed down there. The sun was out the air was warm and I had my fags! What more could a blipster want?
I ended up in town and just bought a sandwich for breakfast and ate it in the sun at the market square, I decided I needed coffee and something to re-hydrate me. So I went to Karma, a cafe I often get coffee, I ordered a large cappuccino and what I thought was a "wellness" drink... guess what?!?! it was a "wellness" breakfast! After my second breakfast I ended up barely being able to walk. I think I was that tired that I just had no idea how to read basic German anymore!! I watched the ManU v Chelsea match in the Chelsea sportsbar <spit> and 12 minutes before the end some old German guy asked the staff to put Bundesleague on, which they did. I was livid, but given the final score I didn't feel so bad.
Anyway walked back along the river to my room and took some shots of the people and the place. The bridge in the forground was one of two buildings that survived a WW2 bombing of Wurzburg (the "Dom" being the other building). The bombing lasted 25 minutes and basically demolished the city and its population.... Oh did I mention I went to the Wurzburg WW2 bombing museum today too???
Anyway, off out for a few beers with some new friends tonight.
Finally found a shop that sold a suitable charger for the camera battery so I will endevour to get to Nurnburg tomorrow. And Martin, if you read this before tomorrow, please don't ring at the crack of dawn :p... Tchuss

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.