PrimeMart

By PrimeMart

Douzy, Nr Sedan

Yesterday evening we had a walk through the Luxembourg Ardennes countryside. Depending on your disposition, this was either:

a) A pleasant stroll over gently undulating hills, through beautiful virgin forests, or

b) A route march along treacherous trails which were too steep (uphill), too steep (downhill), too slippery and muddy, had roots across which threatened to trip you up, took you through boring monoculture pine forests which only allowed a very limited amount of flora and fauna and it started raining, which was also obviously my fault!

I did get worried on the walk at one point, when i noticed Merryn (the Brave, Fearless Gundog who is afraid of ducks,) approaching a Sanglier (wild boar.) I calmed down once I realised it was a metal cut out near to an information point.

Today we drove out of Luxembourg, which is the most gorgeous country, populated by the ugliest people, and drove across Belgium (fortunately no more dentistry required, despite the Belgium motorway system) and in to France.

It is a relief to be able to speak some of the local language. In Germany they could not understand either my attempts at German, or my English, even when I shouted and talked very sloooooooowly.

However I did confuse the proprietor of this campsite when I insisted that my daughter was only 50 years old (she is 15) and therefore should only pay at a child?s rate.

So here is a blip of my lovely wife and 50 year old daughter cooling off in the lac adjacent to the campsite.

Today?s Travel: 43 miles
Nightly Fee: 20.5 euros

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.