PrimeMart

By PrimeMart

Very Hard Work

Kautenbach, Luxembourg

Last night we had the yearly phone call of disaster and woe from the in laws who have gone to stay at our house for a week. We explained the vagaries of the boiler and hot water system and described which cats to feed and which to kick.

I decided to activate the barbeque, for our evening meal. There is something primeval about the man providing for his family, and Tracey deserves a rest, bless her. I did ask that she do some of the preparation, so she peeled, cut and washed the vegetables, par boiled the potatoes, made a white cheese sauce, cut up the baguette and buttered it, laid the table, knocked up something for pudding (fresh rice pudding with freshly scrumped, stewed apple), kept me well stocked with beer and then red wine whilst I did all the hard dangerous work with heat and naked flames.

My sole endeavours produced quite an edible meal, after all that cooking it was only fair that Tracey did the washing up and drying, and put the stuff away whilst keeping me well stocked with white wine.

After such an industrious evening I fell asleep listening to the peace and quiet of Luxembourg punctuated only by the karaoke and occasional train which makes the exact same waaaphooor noise the Empire fighters make as they attack the X wing fighters in Star Wars. Curiously Tracey?s breathing sounded like Darth Vader all night.

This morning I tried to take a picture of ducks landing on the river outside our motorhome. But 30 minutes later, and minus 2 bread rolls and a handful of muesli, I had a very frustrated tied up Labrador, a hungry son with nothing to eat for breakfast, and some blurry shots of some ripples.

I had a lovely walk up in the hills, at one point, whilst practically scrambling up a very steep, rock strewn path, I was overtaken by 2 radio controlled cars! These miniature 4x4?s were controlled by 2 chaps who informed me that it is a new sport and which they compete. Well I never.

Todays blip is of Merryn, enjoying a lie in:

a) Without Poppy the Puppy mugging her
b) On Tracey?s comfy bed.

Magical Mart`s Mystery Bore continues in France tomorrow.

Today?s Travel: 0 miles
Nightly Fee: 35 euros (ouch)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.