Mr Ben

By SteveCatchBacon

Suburban Renewal

With this double take I was originally after a panorama shot taken from my comfy chair in the library coffee shop. First I tried AutoStitch (top) and noticed that a ?spar; in the window was edited out and the writing/graphics were also awry. So I tried Pano (er, bottom) next and although the spar is where it should be the graphics on the window are still out.

I think it?s a combination of being too close to the window and the limitations of £1.79 apps!

Both have their merits though; with AutoStitch you just snap away guessing where the overlap needs to be and then import the individual pics into it and let is sort them. With Pano you have to line up successive shots with a transparent version of each previous shot. That works well where there are features, trees, poles, buildings etc to overlap but in bright sun is difficult to see.

Anyway, the shots both show a corner of Main Street that is awaiting an injection of life and money. The car lot on the left has been let for the umpteenth time, this time to a maintenance garage rather than sales. There might be more demand for that and it looks like, what was, a mobile operation getting a base. The vacant and for sale ex-council offices are we assume in the process of being sold. A rumour is floating about that the Whetherspoons? chain is interested. I?ve mixed feelings about that but given that CAMRA keep issuing vouchers to be used in the chain and Garforth is a bit of a beer desert, for real ale lovers, I guess I?d come down on the ?in favour? side.

These few paragraphs are being written in Pages so that good old ?cut-n-paste? can come into play. This is because blipfoto has caught me out once too often losing text!!

Ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.