Mr Ben

By SteveCatchBacon

Wonky Box

This old Pill Box is opposite from the Crown and Anchor at Kilnsea on the Holderness Peninsula. We went over on the bikes for a couple of nights B&B at a farm nearby. This being our 'Bank Holiday' as I am working next weekend.

Thankfully this isn't Smell-O-Vision as it hummed a bit on the mudflats. It always seems quiet around the area and this was no exception. The only time this changes, it seems, is when some rare birds are seen and all the twitchers descend to spot them.

Funnily enough, I heard my first ever Cuckoo here a couple of years ago, which was a surprise as I understand it is a woodland bird.

I tend to favour the west coast of any given country but the beauty of this bit of the east coast is that you can look west across the Humber and still get sunsets. Sadly not this evening though.

On the plus side the C&A serves Timothy Taylor's Landlord and reasonable pub grub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.