Frontier

By Frontier

Trust

DJ Marky & S.P.Y. - Give Me Your Love ft. Miri & Random Movements

Like the Asian stereotype, I love taking photos. I get on people's nerves when I take photos because I get rather obsessed. It's something that always happens with me whenever I take on a hobby, I get a little too intense about it.

Pondering why I enjoy taking photos so much lead me to the conclusion that I subconsciously can't trust my memory. For whatever reason, when something presents itself it transforms later in the future.

Those meloncholic moments of reminiscing engulf me in a sense of sadness. Time passes by so quickly, you wonder how your past self could miscalculate the needs and desires you have now and vice versa. My mind bends and skews the memories to be better or worse than they actually are; blurring the constraints of fantasy and the actual.

You can bring up Baudrillard and his contemporaries if you wish, and as valid as they are, all the clarity they provide still does not accurately sum up the mess / garden in my mind caused by the truth of memory.

Getting to the point, I suppose there is some element in validating our memories using pictures, there is more hard evidence of an event or an occurence having actually existed. It's relaxing to know that our lives are being archived somehow, whether by ourselves or someone else before we fade away. DJ Marky & S.P.Y. - Love Affair

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.