Year Three

By RobotChicken

My bedroom view this morning

Event finished and we're camping at John O'Groats. Right on the tip of the UK, the furthest you can get on mainland Britain. And this has to be the most northerly campsite in the country as well.

What you can see here is the Scottish Coast looking towards the Arctic Ocean. The islands in the distance are the Orkney Islands.

But this really was my view from my campsite bed this morning, which happens to be in the back of a van. (More comfortable than it sounds).

Essentially, I sleep with the side door open so I can look out and because I like fresh air when I sleep, and I moved the Goat (the van) the previous night so I could look at this view all night. Which I promptly did.

What didn't go to plan was being woken up by my father before 7am who suggested we make a move for Surrey early. Yeah, thanks for that Dad. Our estimated time for leaving (eg my lay in) was meant to be 10am; that was now brought forward to 8am. Joy.

The journey down to Surrey was just over 700 miles, but after a couple of detours I finally managed to cover 718 miles and was in bed in Surrey by just gone midnight. Didn't exactly stop much either! So literally, it was me driving for 16 hours solid.

Long day, but not my longest by any stretch. What was odd was that even after 700 miles, I wouldn't have been too bothered if I had had to cover another 100-150 miles either. Was in the mood to drive.

Today was the first day I've really enjoyed travelling since I've got back, which is odd as I've covered 8,500 miles in the last 5 weeks. Still got another 5,500 in front of me mind...

Mind wanders to going home though soon. Going to miss the travelling in September (it's taken me 5 weeks to be able to say that), but likewise, I know who is waiting for me and I miss her more. I have a new life waiting for me at home, a life most other people take for granted, but something I've missed for a very long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.