The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Purple patch with green lace trimmings

Got up before dawn today, and drove out to the Peak District. I like to have the place to myself, but on a sunny Sunday in August, that ain't gonna happen unless I'm there at first light. I did one of my favourite walks at this time of year. The late summer fungi are starting to appear - hedgehog fungi, the miller, and a few saffron milk caps, the swallows are feeding up ready for their long journey, and other small birds are banding together in small flocks now the rearing of young is over. The heather is looking glorious.especially in the early morning sun.
Walking along a path by a wall, I heard a sound which startled me, like a loud sneeze then at the foot of the wall, a stoat popped up in front of me - so much like a cartoon stoat that I laughed aloud. Further along the route, I encountered a wasps' nest - such amazing and beautiful structures. Fortunately, not many of the residents were around, and the ones that were seemed sluggish.
The badger visited the garden some time after 1.30 last night; same signs as the night before, so I'm quite confident that it was he / she.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.