The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Shrewd operator!

I went out quite early today to make the most of the fine weather, and with the express intention of taking photos of a certain reliable bank vole for today's blip. A family of them live in a wall near an unofficial bird-feeding station and take advantage of the plentiful supply of food provided by walkers and locals. Imagine my surprise when after a few shots of said bank vole, this little creature emerged from the same hole and started to nibble on the food. I've never seen a live shrew; I thought they were a) nocturnal and b) carnivorous so this one was clearly trying out an alternative lifestyle. I wonder how owls feel about grain-fed shrews.
Saw quite a few red admirals, gatekeepers and small coppers as well as a number of buzzards soaring above. One even landed in a tree not far from me. I also saw my first penny bun of the year.
Our garden badger visited at 1pm this morning. I was tucked up in bed, but Pete saw him arrive for his nightly feast of peanuts and plums. Having a bit of a mammal bonanza at the moment, especially with yesterday's sneezing stoat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.