michigan man

By outdoorguy

Darling Ducklings

I was surprised to see these babies so late into
the season. I was having a conversation with a kayaking fisherman, and momma
brought these 5 on to the shore. I thought she would at least take them into
some grass...but she ordered them to take a rest on the concrete of the boat
launch.
 
It has been a couple of months since I've seen
any ducklings. I never tire of watching them...until they turn into that awkward
toddler stage where they lose the cuteness. Almost humanlike. All they need is
to get a mouthload of braces....and they would be just like our
teen-agers.
 
I got about 12-13 pictures, and the kayaker was
getting tired of talking. He wanted to hit the water. He said..."Sorry fella,
but I think I'm going to have to mess up your picture taking." He lifted his
boat toward the water, and Mom and the 5 little ones hurried away. I kept my
camera on the fisherman as he entered his kayak...just in case he tipped it
over. It probably would have made a better blip than the ducklings. He paddled
off without a hitch.
 
So...the ducklings won out. If they were turned
around in the other direction...I would swear they were practicing their
V-formation flying manuevers. These little guys will not be flying south this
fall.They will have to face the cold winter with the rest of
us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.