People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Before his time

This post is a tribute to one of my architecture teachers, a role model and a mentor, Professor White. He died recently of cancer, and I am having a tough time dealing with it.

He always wore a suit to work, often with bow ties. Carried all class papers in a briefcase. Called by our last names only, but always knew who is who and what's going on with them. He had impeccable manners, always smiled, never raised his voice. He had a kind word for everyone, and never took sides in the department politics. Married to the same woman for over 50 years. He loved music; played a bunch of instruments, sang in a choir.

I ended up in his office once, sobbing hysterically over having to drop French (tragedy, right?) due to taking too many classes and just not making it. He smiled and said: "contrary to the popular belief, one CAN have it all, just not all at once". We had many talks afterwards...

I didn't know what image to post in his honor. Great architecture would have been nice; alas I haven't made friends with any of the buildings here. I settled for this. I've been walking around this plant for days now, and find it to be really beautiful. He would have liked the complexity of the seed pod, complemented by how easy it is to understand.

Here is to you, professor White. I am sorry my son never got to meet you. You share first names after all. My kid would have liked that. I know you did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.