People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Here is to new friends

We had a delightful brunch today with our brand new friends S, S, and their kids. We met them quite recently, during the first week of Little Man and their kids' school.

They had us over this morning, for a fantastic meal of shrimp and grits (aka polenta or cornmeal mush) with the sides of bacon, country-style ham, eggs, and fruit. We sipped mimosas and tea, made sure the kids didn't pummel each other, and had a jolly old time!

Thanks, friends, for having us over. :)

S is a fellow bliper; you can find him here.

Thanks to all of your kind comments on my entry from yesterday. I read a number of Professor White's online obituaries and I learned two things I didn't know:
1. He was the first black professor to teach at my esteemed Alma Mater.
2. He took his licensing exam in architecture before desegregation. He was seated in a different room from all other white folks taking the exam. Ironically, that very room became his office when he was hired to teach.
I can only imagine how many other unpleasant situations he endured due to his skin color. Yet I've never seen him bitter or angry...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.