Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Indoor flowers...

... They weren't really meant for me.
But I won them:-)

They were bought for my Daughter but she felt they wouldn't survive her journey home. So I found them a place to be loved.

We've spent Bank Holiday weekend like an old Darby and Joan.
As predicted we shall be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed for the new working week tomorrow, I'm certain.
I looked up 'Darby and Joan'. The earliest mention, I believe from my WWILFING (see yesterday!) was in a poem by Henry Woodfall in 1735.
However, the one I like more is a poem by Frederic Edward Weatherby which concludes :

Hand in hand when our life was May
Hand in hand when our hair is grey
Shadow and sun for every one,
As the years roll on;
Hand in hand when the long night tide
Gently covers us side by side?
Ah! lad, though we know not when,
Love will be with us forever then:
Always the same, Darby my own,
Always the same to your old wife Joan.

(Someone called Frederick Edward Weatherly wrote 'Danny Boy'.
That's a similar name isn't it?
I suspect it's the same person, and 'Weatherby' is wrong.
Who knows about the 'k' in Frederic?
I'm a slave to google!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.