Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Piles

... of rugs. I believe that the word pile has a technical meaning in relation to carpets and rugs. But this pile is just a pile, although in my mind a rather colourful one.

I was under the impression that, being surrounded by piles of rugs like this, stretching away in each direction from where I was standing, we would find the task of selecting one difficult because of the excess of choice. I was, however, disabused of this notion, and now understand that the choice was too limited (wrong sizes, wrong colours, wrong patterns, wrong textures, wrong prices...), for which reason we came away empty handed.

If you don't like the patterns thrown up by piles of rugs, we'll turn back to nature. Here is an old gnarled tree in a churchyard, very close to the store where the rugs lay unloved. The tree is apparently living, pods hang down from its upper branches, and I think that the trunk makes another satisfying pattern.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.