September, but still confused...

Here we are on the first day of September. How have we reached this point so soon? New Year's Day of 2011 seems like a recent event.

I regard 1 September as signalling the very beginning of Autumn (I know that some will argue for the equinox, but that puts much of Advent or very often Chanukah, for example, in late Autumn, which doesn't seem right!).

So, according to me, Summer finished yesterday. The Sun appears to agree, because it has returned for the first time for days this morning. We know that the Sun does not shine during Summer in the UK.

The sunflowers like it (this is where they were introduced for 2011), but they still don't know which way to turn. Poor confused things.

I spent some of the early part of the morning at the local hospital lying in a very expensive and modern CT scanner, and having radiopaque dye injected into my veins. That produces a curious hot feeling all over. Summer again. The ceiling of the large room had pretend panels (good large transparencies) of illuminated blue sky, but the lovely cherry blossom one could see did not quite accord even with my view of the seasons!

Still, I much prefer being home with my autumnal sunflowers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.