I spy with my little eye

By roaminaround

Reminiscing

A busy day with school visits, I came home via Kilsyth and visited Colzium Estate.
Its a place I have been to many times over forty four years, although I haven't been myself for a wee while.
It is a bit of a timeless estate and as I walked up to the Glen floods of memories of visiting here with my Gran and Papa George came back. I could hear my very quiet gentlemen of a Papa singing a now totally unPC song to me. Hey but alot of things have changed through the generations and back then it wouldn't have been blinked at. But I could hear the song!
I walked up to the bridge and around to the Pet Cemetery.This is the grave that I used to look for when I was a wee girl, as I walked here on sunny Saturday afternoons. I believe they were the family pets of the estate owners, dated 1904 and 1911. Now there are loads of wee places of rememberence dotted about the trees but there is now a very official sign stating that any new graves or memoriums will be removed immediately!
Further round is Colzium House where nearly twenty years ago I had my wedding reception! I feel I am truly atached to this wee estate, through location but also through the decades. :D
Enjoy your evening peeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.