As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

We Leave You Alone For One Night...

...we were awoken by a text from my brother to my mom. As it turns out, at 3:00 in the morning the fire alarm in my brothers dorm went off. They were forced to evacuate the building and stand outside. The roof of the building next door to his was on fire because apparently a fire started in the laundry room and traveled up to the roof. So eventually they were herded into the cafeteria a few blocks away and told to sit there. They got back to their dorm at 5:30 and went back to bed. What a way to start the day...

When I woke up for real this time, we went downstairs, ate breakfast, and checked out. We picked up some last-minute stuff from Target for Chris and drove to his dorm. He had just picked up his computer when we arrived and brought him the stuff. My parents went to some orientation class for them with my sister while me and my brother sat in his room figuring out his laptop. Then we walked to get lunch in the cafeteria and met my parents and sister there. We said our last goodbyes as Chris went to his peer-advisory meeting and we headed home. We drove two hours to the ferry in New London, Connecticut and then sat at the ferry dock for two hours. We finally got on a boat at 5:00 and rode to Orient Point. When we arrived an hour and a half later, we made the hour and a half drive westward home. When I got home I was greeted with an amazing e-mail that I will not mention until I pursue it further.

Oh, and tomorrow is the first day of my sophomore year. And my 365th blip.

Word of the Day: Paralipsis - The suggestion, by deliberately brief treatment of a topic, that much of significance is being omitted, as in "not to mention other faults"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.