The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Amanita muscaria

The real thing this time. I've been on a fungus foray in a Sheffield Cemetery with my local Natural History Society, where few species of fungi had been recorded despite the fact that it has quite a varied range of habitat for such a small area. Despite the dry ground, we managed to add a dozen or so to this list, including this fly agaric. I was acting as recorder and photographer, and not being a very proficient multi-tasker, my photos were mainly hasty snapshots. This one would have looked better for a bit of light gardening, but time didn't permit.

An exclusive foray tomorrow: a good friend and I will be doing our annual fungus foray, gossip catch-up and bacon butty outing - with a chance of hazelnuts and sloes!

Excellent news: we had at least one visit from a badger again last night. We sat at the kitchen window and watched him for a good 10 minutes around 12:45 as he hoovered up the food I'd put out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.