Fi

By Fi

Dylan Thomas' Boathouse, Laugharne

Continuing my whirlwind, whistle-stop tour, I spent the day with my friends Di & Dai, who have recently returned to Wales from Australia, having spent over four years living there and becoming Aussie citizens. I last saw them both in Oz, when I went there in April 2010 and so being that they were both off work today, we, along with his brother and family, and Jen, (my partner-in-crime, who I also hadn't seen since Oz last year and who had driven up from Cheltenham especially and as a surprise. I was delighted) went to Laugharne, for lunch.

We had rather an eventful lunch at a pub there, which I wouldn't recommend to others... (The Porthreeve) Their definition of a steak and ale pie was questionable and well the whole service, or lack of, and general dis-organisation (did they not realise it was a Bank Holiday!?) resulted in a justified complaint.

A leisurely walk around the estuary to Dylan Thomas' Boathouse followed and was just what the doctor ordered. The sun came out long enough for us to sit outside for afternoon tea, before we drove back to their new (old) house for an evening on the sofa, catching up - with XF on in the background.

A lovely day... it's nice to have them home and not the other side of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.