Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

What We Remember

I have often thought that 10 years ago on this date, I did a fairly poor job of leading my class as the tragedy was raging on the East Coast. Here on the West Coast we had barely begun to hear about it as my 8:00 a.m. class began. I watched students file into my class wide-eyed and frightened. Because we did not have television connection in the classroom, I tried to quickly settle the class and then as soon as possible start the class with the things we needed to cover that day. Ten years later, I can hardly remember what we did. So when I found this email in my inbox this morning I was surprised. I don't remember it happening this way, but then I'm not sure what I remember.

"Professor Carol, As we commemorate the anniversary of the events of 9/11 today, I am reminded of what I was doing that morning a decade ago. I remember driving home from work early in the morning, listening to Rick Dees on the radio. As I meandered through old Norco, I basked in the sounds of it waking up. Listening to the radio, I thought a radio DJ was telling a joke that wasn't all that funny - something about planes striking buildings in New York. I turned off the radio so I could concentrate on the Norco morning symphony and my relaxing commute home. When I arrived home, my wife reminded me that our cable television service had been interrupted the previous day by a reckless trash truck driver severing the cable lines to our house. I got ready for school, completely unaware of the unfolding of the day's events. Arriving at RCC, Norco, and still unaware of what was happening, I parked and walked to your classroom - my English 50 class. I always looked forward to your class because you challenged our minds to think. You used to read stories to us in class and the assignments in class were always interesting; all preparing us for success in English, but also in college too. You informed us of the events that had transpired earlier and paused for us to pray silently for our great nation, the first responders and the victims of this horrific tragedy. Some students were weeping softly and a somber, serious mood permeated the classroom. We paused for a moment of prayer and reflection on the seriousness of a terrorist attack on US soil. The events of September 11th changed our world in many ways. It changed the way we bank, greatly complicated travel by air, and unleashed two wars in our quest to fight terrorists on their home soil. It brought us closer to each other and to our Almighty God. I will always remember the many lessons in English that you taught me, but more than that, I will always remember you as a professor with an eternal purpose and God's hand guiding your teaching. And for the record, I greatly respect how you drove us to do our best. Love, Mark"

I would have never prayed in class; it is so taboo in America's public schools. Before a quiz, though, I always remind my students that prayer is outlawed in school, but silent prayer is certainly okay. So what I said or did that day 10 years ago is beyond my memory.

I think this has been a very sad day. The memory of that moment is still quite tender. This evening all the churches in our community gathered at the local high school to remember and to pray for our nation. It is the high school that both of us attended. The American flag, the school name, the cross -- all were captured in this photo (that isn't a very good photo).

Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.