Nature day after day

By loveofnature

Starling

One of the many Starlings that visited the suet today. I've noticed something with the Starries in that it's only ever first-year birds that come to the food and maybe one or two adults in a day. Whereas when I put out mealworms it was always mostly adults and a few young 'uns. The tables have turned! The evil cat from next door has been hanging around a lot today mostly sitting underneath the arch and looking up at the birds. Hasn't caught anything so far I think but it gave me an almighty fright earlier on when I was out in the garden and all of a sudden it launched itself from their side of the fence into our plum tree where all the sparrows were. Thankfully didn't get anything that time either but it's a bloomin' pain that cat!

I was going to blip my new feeder today along with the bird seed and new suet feasts but the feeder has come but not the bird seed or feasts yet and I can't be bothered waiting for it to arrive. Maybe tomorrow I'll do it :)

P.S. Thank you all very much for the comments to my 100th blip on Tuesday! I'm very grateful and it made the Spotlight page, too! xxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.