Capital adventures

By marchmont

40 years on

Anniversary 1 - UCS

Do you remember it? Jimmy Reid and Upper Clyde Shipbuilders, 40 years ago the work-in. Today, by serendipity, I was at BAE Systems Surface Ships on the Clyde, the inheritors of UCS. Nowadays it is a high tech and pristine workplace, building navy ships If I told you what I saw I'd have to kill you (ok, it was a stealth destroyer). Much talk about College links and the education they provide. Newsnight Scotland is, as I write, covering Feorlean's announcement yesterday on the future of Colleges. Wonder if he'll read our report?

Then on to Inchinnan and Gas Measurement Instruments, lunch with Honeywell at the Airport Holiday Inn and finally Thornliebank and Star Refrigeration. A fascinating day with much interesting discussion about the links between colleges, universities, schools, the engineering industries, the region, learning and education. Don't recommend the lunch though.

However, it was a lovely sunny day which kept our spirits up as we taxied around Glasgow. The closed off streets in the city centre are for another burst of filming but no sign of Halle Berry. After a brief respite it was out to Bearsden to see D and D. Last time I was there, 9 months ago, we were knee deep in snow. Tonight was much more pleasant.

Much later, back at a moonlit George Square you can see not only the City Chambers, completed in 1888, but also Sir Walter Scott and Robert Burns (1759 - 1796).

And anniversary 2. I realised as I was contemplating 1971 that it was also 40 years this week since I came back from my year in Oz. Wow - where did those years go?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.