Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Washing day

I finally got around to beginning the washing from our holiday today. Unfortunately no matter what cycle I put it on, the clothes were still coming out soaking wet. Not good. Before calling someone in to look at it, I remembered that on the washing machine in our old flat there was a bit at the front that you could open up. After removing a little plate at the bottom, there was indeed a round port that looked like it should unscrew.

With old towels and a shallow tray on the floor I proceeded to gently unscrew the cap. Water came out but as I tried to pull it, there was resistance. Odd I thought but gave in and gave a good yank. No wonder there was resistance, the entire area was packed full of coins, those bits of plastic that you get under the collar of new shirts and a couple of drowned dust bunnies. Clearing it all out got the water draining properly again and I made £7.86 for my trouble. Either the last residents weren't good at checking pockets or my machine pays really good interest.


In other news:

I went out on a river clean up today, loved it! I got wear waders and go out in the river to attempt to remove rubbish and traffic cones from a pile of trees that are caught across the river. Unfortunately we couldn't get all the rubbish as the small channel that the river can still flow through had got very deep.

It's been on the council's list since Christmas. If it's still there in the spring I'd love to get a group of people out there to at least clear some of the branches and trees that are caught up against the original fallen tree. It'll only take another bad winter and it'll be completely blocked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.