Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

My little slice of happiness

Some of you might remember that for the last year, I've been desperately hoping to get use of a garden through a garden share scheme that matches those who wish to garden with garden owners who can no longer tend their garden. In April it looked like I was going to get a garden but then the organising group lost their funding. Mid summer they got funding again and I was ready to start... unfortunately no response could be rasied from the garden owner.

Today, I met with the owner of a garden down the canal. There is already a volunteer in the garden (whom I met with a couple of weeks ago) but it was a bit too much for her to manage on her own. Everything went well and I was so excited by the garden. L, the other volunteer has a patch further up the garden and I have offered to tackle this overgrown stretch. It currently has saplings, old raspberry canes, brambles, grass, St John's Wort(?) ferns and various other miscellany running wild.

It will take a fair bit of work to clear out the bed. I'm planning on initially hacking it all down to about knee high to make it more managable and then starting at the end nearest the house and work my way along, digging everything out. I've offered to plant flowers in the section nearest the house and then I can use further along for fruit and veg. The owner, E, mentioned she likes hydrangeas so I'll probably stick in one of them, a clematis to cover some of the wall and then some general flowering plants. I'm going to leave planning my veggies until I see how long it takes me to clear the ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.