Nesssaintee's World

By nesssaintee

Friday, at long last, we meet again :-)

The day started off beautifully, an absolutely gorgeous sunrise to match yesterday evenings sunset :-)
Was torn between blipping pics I took this morning before I set off for the death star and this, another moon picture.
I took this at 3 minutes past midnight, with the moon much higher in the sky
You can see the craters Atlas and Hercules that I mentioned in yesterdays blip so much more clearly :-)
The roughly shaped upside down heart feature is the Sea of Tranquility (Mare Tranquillitatis) "Tranquility Base here.... The Eagle has landed"
Just above that is the Sea of Serenity (Mare Serenitatis calling it by it's Sunday name)
The prominent crater with the "rays" coming out of it is Tycho Crater (named after the Danish Astronomer Tycho Brahe) it is also the place where the monolith was found in the Arthur C. Clarke novel 2001: A Space Odyssey
If you would like to see the shots I took of the sky this morning, they can be found here on my faceache page
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1793735783108.74225.1831095959&l=b64ba4d030

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.