Moving on

Everything is so quite and peaceful today in the aftermath of the spring term. It feels deserted and oddly sane after so much intense, but fun learning.

I stayed up to celebrate with fellow faculty the night before - drinking wine and making rounds to friends cabins. Today though I have to grade many exams and get ready for moving on tomorrow. I tried to make the most of it though - there is no reason why you can't do your work outside in a lovely place - like on a rocking beach chair by the lake :-)

I also said more reluctant goodbyes today, including to Matt and Brett heading onward on a VW road trip to the Upper Peninsula this week before returning for the summer term. I'll be following them up that way shortly, but tonight I have a few more goodbyes. Dinner on Dave out in Cheboygan with Anne and Alexandra - a spring "end-of-term" tradition. And one that I hope keeps going on for a long time. I never know how long I can find ways to keep coming back here, so it has the effect of making me truly savor every spring fully.

Tomorrow I leave though for another magical place - the Porcupine Mountains. I'm being sponsored as a Resident Artist by the Friends of the Porkies in a tiny cabin in the wild primeval forests of Superior's south shore. Stay tuned for a wonderful adventure into an enchanted land!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.